PitchBook Cost 2026 and Subscription Pricing Per User
PitchBook cost: reported $12,000 to $20,000 per seat per year, median contract near $30,000 to $31,900. What drives the quote, and cheaper alternatives.
By the Investables.ai team
August 2026 · 9 min read
Try it while you read
AI research card
Stocks, ETFs, crypto, startupsEnter any ticker to see a research card
Thesis, bull and bear case, key metrics, comparables and risk flags, synthesized into one structured tear-sheet.
Thesis
Bull case
Bear case
This name is not publicly listed, so there is no market data to show. The card covers the thesis, both sides of the argument and the risk flags.
Key metrics
Comparables
Risk flags
Market data from public sources, as of . Informational only, not financial advice. Qualitative card, no public market data for this name. Informational only, not financial advice.
Get the full research cardJump to a question
- How much does PitchBook cost per year?
- How much does PitchBook cost per user?
- How much does PitchBook cost per seat?
- How much does PitchBook cost per month?
- How much does the PitchBook API cost?
- Is PitchBook free?
- Is PitchBook worth it?
- How does PitchBook collect its data?
- How much does a PitchBook license cost?
- What PitchBook actually costs, from US federal contract records
- PitchBook renewal increases, measured in consecutive contracts
- PitchBook pricing compared with its parent company's platforms
- Is PitchBook owned by Morningstar?
- What UK public bodies pay for PitchBook
- What European institutional investors pay for PitchBook
- What the average PitchBook seat costs, from Morningstar's audited accounts
- How do you negotiate a PitchBook contract down?
- Is PitchBook cheaper than Preqin?
- Does PitchBook data cost extra inside AI tools like Hebbia and Rogo?
- Do you need an expert network as well as PitchBook?
- What are the cheaper PitchBook alternatives?
- PitchBook cost compared to the other enterprise platforms
- The short version
PitchBook cost is set by quote, because PitchBook publishes no price list. Reported figures put a single user seat between $12,000 and $20,000 per year, a three-user team package between $18,000 and $32,000, and each additional seat near $7,000. Enterprise contracts are reported between $70,000 and $124,000 or more. Two independent procurement datasets put the median signed contract at roughly $30,000 to $31,900 a year. Every number in circulation, including the ones here, comes from buyers and procurement marketplaces rather than from PitchBook. This guide covers what drives the figure, what sits inside it, how it gets negotiated, and what people move to when it stops making sense. Figures gathered August 2026. Educational only, not financial advice.
How much does PitchBook cost per year?
Budget five figures per seat. The most commonly reported starting point for a single named user is $12,000 to $20,000 a year, and the number climbs from there with seats and modules rather than with usage. A team of three, which is the package most small venture and private equity firms actually buy, is reported between $18,000 and $32,000, with roughly $25,000 the figure quoted most often. Large institutional contracts are reported between $70,000 and $124,000 and occasionally well beyond that.
The more useful number for a budget is what buyers actually sign. One procurement marketplace reports a median PitchBook contract of $31,875 a year across 130 anonymized transactions, with a range of $20,000 to $122,750. A second dataset reports a median near $30,000 a year drawn from a comparable sample. Two independent samples landing within about 6% of each other is unusually strong agreement for a quote-only product, so plan around $30,000 for a small team and you will not be far off.
| Configuration | Commonly reported figure | What moves it |
|---|---|---|
| Single named user | $12,000 to $20,000 per user / year | Core platform access, one seat |
| Team of 3 | $18,000 to $32,000 / year | The standard small-firm package, about $25,000 most often quoted |
| Additional seat | About $7,000 per user / year | Per-seat cost falls as seat count rises |
| Enterprise | $70,000 to $124,000+ / year | Seat volume, added modules, dedicated support |
| Median signed contract | Reported $30,000 to $31,875 / year | Two procurement datasets, across seat counts |
| API or data feed | Reported 5% to 15% of the base license | Licensed separately, priced off contract size |
| Month-to-month | Not offered | Annual contracts only, 1-year minimum |
How much does PitchBook cost per user?
Per user is how PitchBook is sold, so the seat figures above are the per-user figures. The important detail is that the per-seat rate is not flat. A solo subscriber carries the full weight of the contract and is reported to pay $12,000 to $20,000, while a firm adding a fifth or tenth analyst to an existing agreement is reported to pay closer to $7,000 for that seat. Across the whole reported spread, effective per-user cost runs from about $7,000 to over $30,000 depending entirely on how many people are on the paper. If you are that solo subscriber, PitchBook for individuals sets out what one person pays and the routes that cost less.
This is the opposite of how most software buyers assume enterprise data is priced, and it changes the negotiation. Adding people is comparatively cheap. Removing them is where the money is, because the first seats carry the contract minimum. If you are three years into a subscription that grew one analyst at a time, the seats worth examining are the ones added early at full rate whose owners have since changed roles.
How much does PitchBook cost per seat?
Seat and user mean the same thing in PitchBook contracts, and licenses are named rather than concurrent. That distinction matters more than the price. A named license is tied to one person and cannot be rotated between an analyst who needs it on Mondays and an associate who needs it on Thursdays, which is a workaround buyers frequently try to price in and vendors generally close off. Sharing credentials also breaches the terms, so the practical seat count is the number of individual people who need their own access, not the number of people using it in a given week.
How much does PitchBook cost per month?
There is no monthly plan. PitchBook sells annual contracts with a one-year minimum and no month-to-month billing, so the only honest monthly figure is an annual contract divided by twelve. On the reported median that works out to roughly $2,500 a month for a small team, and $1,000 to $1,700 a month for a single seat. If a source quotes you a genuine monthly PitchBook subscription price, it is describing something the vendor does not sell.
The absence of monthly billing is a real cost, not just an inconvenience. It means the minimum commitment for evaluating the platform properly is a full year, and it is the main structural reason smaller funds end up on Crunchbase or Tracxn instead. Anyone whose need is seasonal, a single fundraise or one diligence project, is paying for eight or nine months they will not use.
How much does the PitchBook API cost?
The API and the direct data feed are add-ons rather than part of a standard seat, and they are reported to be priced as a percentage of the base license, commonly 5% to 15%. On a $30,000 contract that implies roughly $1,500 to $4,500 a year, though the figure scales with contract size rather than with call volume. PitchBook does not publish API pricing, and the percentage convention comes from buyers describing their own quotes, so treat it as a planning assumption rather than a rate card.
The practical warning is the same one that catches teams on every enterprise data platform: redistribution rights are separate from access rights. Pulling data into an internal dashboard, a client deliverable or a product is a different license from reading it in the platform, and discovering that after you have built the pipeline is an expensive conversation. Get the permitted uses written into the quote.
Is PitchBook free?
No. There is no free tier and no free trial in the ordinary sense, though PitchBook does run guided demos through its sales team and many universities hold licenses that students and faculty can use. Journalists occasionally receive access for reporting purposes. Everyone else pays, and the entry point is a five-figure annual contract.
The free options people actually end up using cover a narrower job. Crunchbase has a free tier that handles basic company lookups and recent funding announcements. SEC EDGAR carries every public filing at no cost, including the Form D filings that disclose some private placements. What none of them carry is the thing PitchBook is bought for: negotiated deal terms, private valuations, cap table detail and fund performance. That data is collected rather than filed, which is precisely why it costs money.
Is PitchBook worth it?
It is worth it when private-market data directly drives revenue. Sourcing proprietary deals, pricing a round against real comparables, building a target list for an acquisition, or evidencing a track record to LPs during a raise all justify the cost quickly. At a reported median near $30,000, one closed deal or one mistake avoided covers several years of the subscription, which is why firms that genuinely live in private markets rarely churn.
It stops being worth it in a specific and very common situation: the usage report shows most seats running public-company lookups, light screening and the occasional comp pull. That work does not need private-market data at all, and it is available for a fraction of the price. Before any renewal, pull usage by named user and sort it. The conversation with the vendor gets much shorter when you can point at three seats that opened the platform four times last quarter.
How does PitchBook collect its data?
Understanding the collection method explains both the price and the caveats. PitchBook combines public filings with direct outreach: a research team surveys investors, funds and companies, processes voluntary submissions, and reconciles what it receives against regulatory disclosures such as Form D and state records. Machine collection handles scale, human verification handles the parts that cannot be scraped because they were never published anywhere.
That is why the data is expensive and also why practitioners treat different fields differently. Deal existence, participants and dates are generally reliable because multiple parties confirm them. Private company revenue figures and valuations are frequently estimated or self-reported, get revised, and should be verified against a second source before anything important rests on them. Analysts who use PitchBook well know which columns to trust and which to check.
How much does a PitchBook license cost?
A single PitchBook license costs $12,000 to $20,000 a year, and the median contract across a 130-transaction procurement sample is $31,875, which reflects that most buyers hold several seats. Additional seats are reported around $7,000 each, so a three-person team commonly lands between $18,000 and $32,000 and an enterprise deployment between $70,000 and $124,000.
PitchBook licenses are named-user, annual and quoted, with no monthly billing and no self-serve purchase. The practical consequence is that the license count you sign is the license count you carry for the term, so seat sizing at renewal matters more than the per-seat rate you negotiate. Pull named-user login data before the call; it is the one argument in a renewal that a vendor cannot dispute.
What PitchBook actually costs, from US federal contract records
Every figure above comes from buyers describing their own quotes, which is the best evidence most pricing pages have. There is better evidence available. US federal purchases are public records with a dollar amount, a period of performance and, in the useful cases, a stated number of licenses, so the seat price can be calculated rather than reported. We pulled every PitchBook award at USAspending.gov, most recently on 31 August 2026. Five of them name a license count.
| Buyer and year | What the award says | Licenses | Per seat, per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| HHS, FY2023 | 13 PitchBook licenses subscription | 13 | $7,000 |
| DOJ, FY2025 | PitchBook standard platform subscription, authorized users (21) | 21 | $8,000 |
| DOJ Financial Intelligence Unit, FY2022 | 17 user licenses are requested for FIU | 17 | $8,412 |
| DOJ National Security Division, 2026 to 2027 | Standard platform subscription authorized users: (15) | 15 | $10,500 |
| Department of Labor EBSA, 2025 to 2027 | One, 12-month subscription for 5 user licenses | 5 | About $10,250 |
Three of these divide out to round numbers, $7,000, $8,000 and $10,500, which tells you PitchBook works from a per-seat list internally even though it publishes nothing. The whole set sits in a much tighter band than the $7,000 to $30,000 spread reported by buyers, and it sits at the bottom of that band. These are negotiated government prices under federal procurement rules, so a commercial buyer should expect to pay at least this much, but if a quote lands far above $10,500 a seat for the standard platform, you now have a number to point at.
The Labor award is the newest confirmation and it lands almost exactly on the Justice figure. The Employee Benefits Security Administration paid $102,500 across a period of performance running from 27 September 2025 to 26 September 2027, which annualizes to $51,250 a year for five licenses, or about $10,250 a seat. Two different agencies, two different years, five seats and fifteen seats, and both land within $250 of each other. That is the strongest evidence on this page that PitchBook now prices a standard platform seat around $10,250 to $10,500.
Set the 2024 and 2026 Justice awards side by side and you can watch that number move. Justice bought a twenty-one user standard platform subscription at $8,000 a seat in September 2024, then a fifteen user subscription of the same named product at $10,500 a seat in August 2026. Some of the 31% gap is the volume curve, because fifteen seats should cost more each than twenty-one. The rest is straightforward price escalation on the same product at the same customer in under two years, and it is worth raising in any renewal conversation.
The two DOJ awards also price the volume break directly. Twenty-one seats came in at $8,000 each and fifteen seats at $10,500 each. Some of that gap is two years of escalation, but the direction is the one every award in this market shows: bigger orders get cheaper seats, and departments that buy separately all pay the small-order rate.
PitchBook renewal increases, measured in consecutive contracts
The escalator gets almost no attention in pricing coverage and it is where the money goes. When the same agency renews the same subscription for consecutive twelve-month periods, dividing the later amount by the earlier one gives the increase PitchBook actually applied.
| Buyer and period | Earlier 12 months | Next 12 months | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| HHS enterprise subscription, FY2021 to FY2022 | $160,000 | $190,000 | +18.75% |
| HHS enterprise subscription, FY2022 to FY2023 | $190,000 | $205,000 | +7.89% |
| HHS enterprise subscription, FY2023 to FY2024 | $205,000 | $246,000 | +20.00% |
| Commerce, VC and PE analysis tool, FY2026 to FY2027 | $90,000 | $94,500 | +5.00% |
| Treasury subscription services, FY2025 to FY2026 | $444,125 | $456,500 | +2.79% |
| State Department, FY2024 to FY2025 | $463,336 | $591,197 | +27.60% |
| State Department, FY2025 to FY2026 | $591,197 | $719,821.85 | +21.76% |
The exact numbers are the ones to trust. A renewal landing on precisely 20.00% or precisely 5.00% is a contract term, not a coincidence, because nobody adds and removes seats to hit a round percentage. The larger moves at the State Department almost certainly include scope growth, since award descriptions do not change when seats are added.
What compounding looks like on a real account: the HHS subscription ran $160,000, $190,000, $205,000, $246,000 and then $472,500 across five consecutive years. Even discounting the last jump as expansion, a line item that nearly tripled in five years is the default outcome of renewing PitchBook without negotiating the escalator. Ask for a renewal cap as a written contract term before you argue about the first-year discount, because over three years a capped escalator is worth far more.
For context on how unusual this is, we ran the same arithmetic on Preqin and found seven consecutive renewals at exactly 2.00%, spread across two separately dated product lines at the same agency. So the two companies sit at opposite ends of this market: PitchBook has applied 20.00% and Preqin has applied 2.00%, both as deliberate contract terms rather than accidents. The full working is in the Preqin pricing guide, and the head-to-head is in PitchBook vs Preqin. If you are renewing PitchBook, that 2.00% is the most useful comparable in the market, because it proves a low single-digit escalator is something a vendor in this niche will actually sign.
PitchBook pricing compared with its parent company's platforms
PitchBook pricing sits below Morningstar's institutional fund platform at a single seat and above it at scale, because the two price on opposite structures. PitchBook charges roughly flat per named user after the first, at about $7,000 a seat. Morningstar Direct's last disclosed list dropped from $17,500 for the first user to $11,000 for the second and $9,500 for each one after that.
| Platform | Single user | Reported median or team pricing |
|---|---|---|
| PitchBook | $12,000 to $20,000 / year | Median contract $31,875; additional seats about $7,000 |
| Morningstar Direct | Roughly $23,000 to $30,000 planned | Additional seats roughly $12,500 to $16,000 |
| Morningstar Investor | $249 / year | The individual product, not comparable in scope |
They also cover different universes: PitchBook is private companies, deals and valuations, while Direct is managed investments and manager research. If your firm already holds one, the pricing conversation for the other is a different one, which is covered in the Morningstar Direct cost guide.
Is PitchBook owned by Morningstar?
Yes. Morningstar acquired PitchBook in 2016 and runs it as a Morningstar company. This is worth knowing at renewal time rather than as trivia: firms already holding Morningstar contracts, such as a Morningstar Direct license, can sometimes negotiate PitchBook into a broader commercial relationship, and vendors are more flexible when the conversation covers several products at once. It is a lever few buyers think to test.
What UK public bodies pay for PitchBook
PitchBook files no price list anywhere, so the only hard figures are signed contracts. The US federal record above is one source. The UK publishes its public awards individually, and PitchBook appears in that record more often than most vendors in this category, at a range of team sizes.
| Buyer | Scope, as named in the award | Awarded | Term | Annualized |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Department for International Trade | PitchBook multi-team subscription | GBP 136,185 | Dec 2022 to Dec 2023 | ~GBP 132,900 (~$168,800) |
| Department for International Trade | PitchBook subscription renewal | GBP 76,900 | Apr 2022 to Mar 2023 | ~GBP 76,900 (~$97,700) |
| UK Shared Business Services | PitchBook subscription | GBP 34,483 | Mar 2022 to Mar 2023 | ~GBP 34,500 (~$43,800) |
| Digital, Culture, Media and Sport | PitchBook platform subscription | GBP 33,057 | Jan 2023 to Dec 2023 | ~GBP 33,100 (~$42,000) |
| UK Shared Business Services | PitchBook database subscription | GBP 21,376 | Nov 2022 to Aug 2023 | ~GBP 26,700 (~$33,900) |
| UK Shared Business Services | PitchBook software | GBP 21,228 | Sep 2023 to Aug 2024 | ~GBP 21,200 (~$27,000) |
| University of Birmingham | PitchBook software | GBP 43,075 | Oct 2022 to Oct 2024 | ~GBP 21,500 (~$27,400) |
Source: Contracts Finder, UK Cabinet Office, retrieved September 2026, annualized from each notice's stated period. Dollar figures are converted at $1.27 to the pound and rounded. Seat counts are not stated in these notices, so none of these is a per-seat price. A fourth Department for International Trade line, GBP 41,050 for January to March 2024, is a three-month addition to an existing umbrella contract and is left out because annualizing it would be meaningless.
The useful pattern here is the floor. Four separate departmental and university contracts cluster tightly between about GBP 21,200 and GBP 34,500 a year, roughly $27,000 to $43,800. That band lines up closely with the reported $18,000 to $32,000 three-user team package at the top of this page, and it is a good working estimate for what a small analytical team actually signs. The Department for International Trade sits an order of magnitude above it at about $168,800 a year for a multi-team subscription, which is the enterprise shape.
One line deserves a caution rather than a conclusion. UK Shared Business Services bought PitchBook at about GBP 34,500 a year in 2022/23 and about GBP 21,200 a year in 2023/24, a fall of roughly 38%. It is tempting to read that as a heavy renewal discount, and it is far more likely to be fewer seats: the earlier notice is titled as a subscription and the later one as software, and neither states a user count. Without unit counts you cannot separate a price change from a scope change, which is the recurring limitation of every contract record on this page.
Read against the university line, though, the range does say something a buyer can use. The University of Birmingham signed a two-year deal at about GBP 21,500 a year, essentially the same rate as UK Shared Business Services paid in 2023/24. PitchBook is often assumed to give academic buyers a deep discount the way Bloomberg does for teaching labs. On this evidence it does not appear to: the university paid what a government department paid.
What European institutional investors pay for PitchBook
The US and UK records above are both dominated by government departments, which is a limitation: a department buying market data is not shaped like a fund. Two European award notices fix that, because both buyers are institutional investors, and both bought platform access as their own standalone contract rather than as a line inside a bigger data deal.
| Buyer | Scope, as named in the notice | Awarded | Term | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Andra AP-Fonden (AP2), Swedish national pension fund | Integrated market intelligence data services | EUR 180,000 | Jan 2024 to Dec 2026 | EUR 60,000 (about $69,600) |
| EIFO, the Danish Export and Investment Fund | Access to a global public and private market data and insights platform | USD 80,960 (DKK 500,000) for year one, DKK 2,000,000 ceiling | 4 years | About $80,960 |
Source: Tenders Electronic Daily, contract award notices 6088-2024 and 454233-2025, retrieved September 2026. The AP2 figure divides an awarded EUR 180,000 across a stated three year term. The EIFO notice publishes its own dollar conversion of the DKK 500,000 annual payable, which is why that row is already in dollars. Neither notice states a user count.
Neither notice states a user count, but the AP2 tender documents do state the pricing basis, and it is the one a buyer wants: the fund required every bidder to quote "the price for the yearly base license" and to specify it "per person per year", with platform access, support and training included in that figure. So the EUR 180,000 was built from a per-head number, even though the published notice does not say what the head count was.
The two land close together at roughly $70,000 and $81,000 a year, and that is a genuinely new reference point. It sits well above the UK departmental cluster of about $27,000 to $43,800 and an order of magnitude below the Department for International Trade's multi-team contract at about $168,800. If you are a fund rather than a ministry, this is the band to benchmark against.
Put it next to the per-seat federal figures and it tells you something more specific. At the $10,250 to $10,500 a seat that Justice and Labor paid, $70,000 to $81,000 a year implies roughly seven to eight standard platform seats. That is the size of one private markets team, which is exactly what AP2 and EIFO each have. No seat count is published in either notice, so treat that as an inference rather than a fact, but it is the arithmetic a buyer should run before accepting that a mid five figure quote is somehow generous.
Who does PitchBook beat when a fund runs a real competition?
Refinitiv, S&P Global with Preqin, Backstop Solutions and Allocator, in the one procurement where all the bids are public. AP2 ran an open EU tender for an integrated market intelligence, data, analytics and research platform for alternative assets, five vendors submitted, and PitchBook Data Inc won it on 8 December 2023. The notice names every bidder, which is rare and makes it the only public head to head in this category.
| Bidder, as the notice records it | What they were pitching | Result |
|---|---|---|
| PitchBook Data Inc | Private and public markets platform | Won, three year contract from Jan 2024 |
| Refinitiv Sweden AB | The Eikon and Workspace stack | Lost |
| S&P Global, submitted jointly with Preqin | Market Intelligence with Preqin fund data | Lost |
| Backstop Solutions Group | Allocator workflow and research management | Lost |
| HedgePo, bidding as Allocator | Allocator data and manager research | Lost |
Source: Tenders Electronic Daily notice 6088-2024, award date 8 December 2023, contract term January 2024 to December 2026 with a stated renewal length of 24 months.
The scoring is published too, and price was one of four criteria alongside quality of data and market information, platform flexibility and support. The data criterion asked for the largest possible universe of managers, funds and companies so that meaningful comparison was possible, and for research covering several topics with real analysis attached. The flexibility criterion asked for per asset class customization, use across desktop, laptop, tablet and phone, and data export by segment and strategy. A fund choosing on those terms picked PitchBook over the two largest incumbents in the market.
The S&P and Preqin joint submission is a detail worth pausing on, because of when it happened. In December 2023 those two were going to market together as partners against PitchBook. BlackRock agreed to buy Preqin roughly six months later and closed in March 2025, so that particular pairing no longer exists in that form. If you are running a private markets vendor selection now, the field this tender describes has consolidated underneath you, which is an argument for putting the shortlist together yourself rather than inheriting one from a two-year-old comparison. Our Preqin cost guide covers where that data sits today.
For a US buyer the transferable part is not the winner, it is the method. AP2 wrote down the coverage it needed, demanded a per person per year price from every bidder, scored data quality at more weight than price, and published the result. That is why it has a EUR 60,000 a year contract instead of a quote. Almost none of that requires being a public body.
The EIFO tender is worth reading for a second reason that has nothing to do with price. It describes what the fund needed in plain language: data and insights on private equity, venture capital, M&A transactions, private and public companies, and investors and funds globally. That requirement went out to competitive tender under EU rules, and PitchBook won it. When a sovereign investment fund writes down the coverage it needs and runs an open competition, the outcome is a better signal about the product than any vendor comparison page, including this one.
One structural detail is worth copying. EIFO capped the four year framework at DKK 2,000,000 against a first year payable of DKK 500,000. That is exactly four times the annual figure, with no escalation headroom built in at all. Set that against the Justice Department awards higher up this page, where the same named product moved from $8,000 to $10,500 a seat in under two years, and you can see two buyers taking opposite positions on the same risk. One wrote the flat number into the framework. The other did not, and paid 31% more. Ask for the flat framework.
What the average PitchBook seat costs, from Morningstar's audited accounts
Every figure above comes from somebody's contract. There is one more source that nobody quoting PitchBook prices seems to use, and it is the most authoritative of the lot: PitchBook's owner is a public company, so it has to tell the SEC how many people hold a PitchBook licence and how much money those licences bring in. Divide one by the other and you get the average price of a PitchBook seat, worldwide, audited. The numbers below are from Morningstar, Inc.'s 10-K for the year ended 31 December 2025, filed on 13 February 2026.
| What Morningstar discloses | 2025 | 2024 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| PitchBook segment revenue | $671.8 million | $618.4 million | up 8.6% |
| Licensed users at 31 December | 113,451 | Relatively flat | Stated as flat |
| Client accounts at 31 December | ~10,200 | Not stated | Not derivable |
| Annual revenue renewal rate | ~103% | ~108% | down 5 points |
That gives three derived numbers worth carrying into a negotiation. Revenue divided by licensed users is about $5,920 per user per year. Revenue divided by client accounts is about $65,900 per account per year. And the average account holds about 11 licensed users.
Treat the per-user figure as a ceiling on the average seat rather than a quote. Segment revenue includes PitchBook's direct data business, the APIs and data feeds that are priced on data volume rather than headcount, so some of that $671.8 million was never a seat at all. It is also a blended global average spanning enterprise agreements and discounted startup and boutique deals. What it does establish is the order of magnitude, and it lines up with the contract record above rather than contradicting it.
Morningstar also settles a question that vendor pages leave vague. In its own words, pricing for the PitchBook platform "is primarily based on the number of licensed users," with customised pricing for large enterprises, boutique firms and startups. PitchBook is a per-seat product, confirmed in a filing rather than inferred from a sales call, and the 11-users-per-account average tells you what a typical deal actually looks like: not one login, and not a trading floor either.
The renewal rate is the number to take into a renewal conversation
The most useful disclosure is the one Morningstar would probably rather bury. PitchBook's annual revenue renewal rate fell to roughly 103% in 2025 from roughly 108% in 2024. A rate above 100% means existing customers collectively spent more than the year before, so 103% is still growth, but the five-point drop matters because of the reason given for it. Morningstar attributes the decline to softness in the corporate client segment, naming higher churn and lower expansion activity, and elsewhere in the same filing it is more specific: weakness was concentrated "especially with smaller firms with more limited use cases."
Read that alongside the other disclosure, that licensed users were relatively flat while revenue grew 8.6%. Flat seats and rising revenue means the average seat got roughly 8.5% more expensive over the year. PitchBook grew in 2025 by charging its remaining users more, not by signing up more of them, and the users it lost were disproportionately small firms that could not justify the seat.
Two practical conclusions follow. If you are a small firm being quoted a PitchBook renewal, you are in the exact cohort the filing identifies as churning, which is leverage. Ask for the multi-year cap rather than the headline discount, because the filing shows where the increase actually lands. And if you are that small firm and the use case genuinely is limited, PitchBook's own accounts are telling you what people in your position decided. Roughly $5,920 a year for a seat is defensible when private-market deal sourcing is the job. It is hard to defend when what you actually needed was a fast, structured read on a handful of companies. That is the gap our research cards fill at $49 to $249 a month with no seat minimum, and it is the same calculation a solo buyer runs on PitchBook for individuals.
How do you negotiate a PitchBook contract down?
Buyers report an average of about 14% off the opening quote, and almost none of it arrives unprompted. Three levers do the work.
Cut idle seats. Seat count drives the quote more than any other variable, and usage data is the one argument a vendor cannot dispute. Pull it by named user before the call, not during it.
Commit for longer. Two and three year terms are reported to yield 15% to 30% against a one-year price. This only makes sense if you are confident in the need, because there is no exit, but for a firm whose strategy depends on private markets it is usually the largest single discount available.
Put a competing quote on the table. A Capital IQ, Tracxn or CB Insights proposal changes the tone of the conversation immediately, and the sales cycle is long enough that you have time to get one. CB Insights is the most useful counterweight here because its verified median of $46,984 sits above PitchBook's, so the comparison flatters the PitchBook rep while still forcing a number, and the CB Insights cost guide has the reported bands to quote from. Time the renewal against the vendor's quarter end if you can see it.
One underused approach is to audit what you already own before adding anything. Firms frequently discover at renewal that a large share of the research they were paying to access already sits somewhere in their own drives, unfindable, which makes the case for putting a search layer over internal research before buying another data seat. The cheapest data is usually the report an analyst wrote last year and nobody could locate.
Is PitchBook cheaper than Preqin?
Yes, and usually by a wide margin. Verified purchase medians put PitchBook at $31,875 a year across a 130-transaction sample and Preqin near $50,000 a year, with Preqin's reported band running $25,000 to $81,000. A single PitchBook user is reported at $12,000 to $20,000, while Preqin's entry configuration is reported around $25,000 and does not get meaningfully cheaper for one person, because its floor is set by asset class scope rather than headcount.
The sample sizes matter here. PitchBook's median rests on 130 verified transactions, which is one of the deepest datasets available for any quote-only platform. The Preqin medians come from much thinner samples, one as small as five deals, so treat the roughly $50,000 figure as a directional anchor rather than a benchmark. Even allowing for that, every published source puts Preqin above PitchBook.
Price is the second question though. These two datasets answer different things, and buying on cost alone is how firms end up renewing something they cannot use. PitchBook is built around companies and the deals done on them: private financials, transaction comps, valuations, cap tables. Preqin is built around funds and the institutions that allocate to them: fund performance by vintage, LP commitments, GP benchmarking across seven alternative asset classes. If your work is diligence on a target company, PitchBook. If it is benchmarking a fund or mapping an investor base for a raise, Preqin, and the extra $18,000 is not optional.
One thing to watch on the Preqin side of a comparison: several widely copied pages list its tiers at $2,083, $4,167 and $6,667 per year, which are monthly figures with an annual label. Read at face value they make Preqin look cheaper than PitchBook by an order of magnitude. Multiply by twelve and the real numbers appear. The full breakdown is in our Preqin cost guide.
The federal record complicates the simple answer slightly. Preqin sells by database rather than by platform seat, so an agency buying one asset class paid as little as $1,590 a seat for the infrastructure database, well under any PitchBook seat, while an agency buying private debt for two users paid $8,250 a seat, which is right in PitchBook territory. PitchBook is cheaper when you need everything; Preqin is cheaper when you need one thing. The full comparison, including the renewal escalators for both, is in PitchBook vs Preqin.
Does PitchBook data cost extra inside AI tools like Hebbia and Rogo?
Yes, in the sense that the AI tool does not include it. PitchBook sells a Premium Connector that puts its data inside AI platforms, and its own setup documentation for both Hebbia and Rogo says the connector works only for clients who already hold a seat-based, unlimited or trial PitchBook license, with single sign-on. A paid seat on the AI platform does not buy you PitchBook data. You pay PitchBook as well.
That changes the budget more than most buyers expect, because the data license is usually the larger line. Rogo seats are estimated at about $3,300 a year and a Professional Hebbia seat at about $10,000, both unverified third-party figures, against $12,000 to $20,000 reported for a PitchBook seat. One analyst using Hebbia on PitchBook data is looking at roughly $22,000 to $30,000 a year on those figures. We set out where each AI platform number comes from in our Hebbia pricing and license cost breakdown and the Rogo AI pricing guide.
Do you need an expert network as well as PitchBook?
For most private equity and venture teams the honest answer is yes eventually, no at the start, and the two budgets should never be argued for together. PitchBook answers what happened: who owned the company, what the last round priced at, which funds are active in the segment, what comparable deals cleared. An expert network answers what is happening now inside a target market, which no database records because nobody has written it down yet.
The cost gap is the reason this matters at budget time. A PitchBook seat sits between $7,000 and $10,500 a year on federal awards that name a license count. The only expert network figure derived from an audited document, GLG's 2021 Form S-1, works out at about $25,623 of annualized contract value per user and roughly $192,000 per client account. So an expert network commitment is typically two to three times a PitchBook seat per person and an order of magnitude larger at the account level.
The sequencing that works is to buy the database first and the network second, sized to the diligence you actually run rather than the diligence you plan to run. Deal flow is lumpy and network contracts are annual, which is how funds end up paying for a minimum commitment they burned through in one quarter and left idle for three. We derive the GLG figures line by line on our GLG cost and pricing page, and compare the four major networks in best expert networks for private equity.
What are the cheaper PitchBook alternatives?
The honest framing is that nothing cheap replaces the whole product, so pick the substitute that matches the part of PitchBook you actually use.
| Tool | Reported price (USD) | Replaces which part of PitchBook |
|---|---|---|
| Crunchbase | Pro $99 / month, Business $199 / month | Company discovery, funding announcements, alerts |
| Tracxn | About $1,000 to $1,500 / month | Sector and emerging-market startup coverage |
| Dealroom | Premium from about 12,500 euros / year, 3-seat minimum | European startup and ecosystem data |
| S&P Capital IQ Pro | Quote only, reported $10,000 to $50,000+ / seat / yr | Private financials and M&A transaction comps |
| CB Insights | Quote only, verified median $46,984 / year | Market maps and trend research, not raw records |
| Preqin | Quote only, median reported near $50,000 / year | Fund performance and LP intelligence. Dearer than PitchBook, not cheaper |
| Investables.ai | $49 to $249 / month | The public-company research seats, not private data |
If your week is mostly public companies with occasional private lookups, the arithmetic is worth running. A structured research card on any ticker, ETF or crypto token, with an explicit bull case, bear case, key metrics, comparables and labeled risk flags, does not require a private-markets contract. Investables.ai covers exactly that job and holds no private-company data at all, which is the honest limitation to weigh. There is a fuller side-by-side on the PitchBook alternatives page, and the same analysis for the neighbouring platforms in the Capital IQ cost guide and the FactSet cost guide.
PitchBook cost compared to the other enterprise platforms
PitchBook rarely gets evaluated alone. It sits in a shortlist with the other five-figure platforms, and the reported medians cluster more tightly than the headline ranges suggest.
| Platform | Reported cost | Bought primarily for |
|---|---|---|
| PitchBook | Median reported $30,000 to $31,875 / year | Private markets: VC and PE deals, funds, LPs |
| S&P Capital IQ Pro | Reported list about $33,375 / user / year | Banking: private financials, transaction comps, Excel |
| FactSet | Median reported $20,500 to $25,200 / year | Buy side: portfolio analytics and attribution |
| Bloomberg Terminal | $31,980 / seat / year single seat | Trading: real-time data, news and messaging |
| AlphaSense | Quote only, and unverifiable: reported $10,000 to $20,000 / seat / yr | Search across filings, transcripts and broker research |
Bloomberg is the only one of the five with a near-fixed published price, which makes it the easiest to budget and the hardest to negotiate. The other four are quote-driven and therefore all negotiable, PitchBook included. A broader view of where these platforms sit against monthly-billed tools is on the investment research platform pricing page.
One thing to notice in that table: PitchBook is the only row where the number comes from arithmetic on a signed contract rather than from buyers describing their quotes. AlphaSense is the opposite extreme, with no filed rate card and a single US federal award carrying no dollar value, so its reported range cannot be checked against anything. That asymmetry is worth more in a negotiation than the medians are, and we work through it in the AlphaSense vs PitchBook cost comparison.
The short version
PitchBook costs a reported $12,000 to $20,000 for one seat, roughly $25,000 for a team of three, and a median near $30,000 a year across signed contracts. There is no free tier and no monthly billing. The price is defensible when private-market data drives revenue and indefensible when the usage report shows public-company lookups. Before renewing, sort usage by named user, decide which seats genuinely need private data, and price the rest somewhere else.
See your next ticker as a research card
Investables.ai turns any ticker into a structured research card: thesis, bull case, bear case, key metrics, comparables and risk flags, to speed up your own diligence. For research and education only, not financial advice.